Malaysia is located in Southeastern Asia on a peninsula bordering Thailand and northern one-third of the island of Borneo, Indonesia, Brunei, and the South China Sea, south of Vietnam. 

Climate: Tropical; annual southwest (April to October) and northeast (October to February) monsoons. 

Population: 28,274,729 (July 2010 est.) 

Currency: Ringgits (MYR) 

Exchange Rates: Ringgits (MYR) per US dollar - 3.2182 (2010), 3.5246 (2009), 3.33 (2008) 

Time Zone: MST (UTC+8) 

Languages: Bahasa Malaysia (official), English, Chinese (Cantonese, Mandarin, Hokkien, Hakka, Hainan, Foochow), Tamil, Telugu, Malayalam, Panjabi, Thai. 

Visitors Web site: 

Other Information

  • Biodiverse range of flora and fauna
  • Major manufacturing hub in the region
  • Formerly a British colony, now occupied by an internationally diverse population